Connecting IRig Stomp I/O To Axe I/O One Via Midi on Pc

AXE I/O, AXE I/O Solo, iRig Stomp I/O, Guitar and Bass Audio Interfaces/Controllers, iRig Keys I/O and the iRig Keys family of MIDI controllers

Connecting IRig Stomp I/O To Axe I/O One Via Midi on Pc

Postby Ianellis » Wed Jun 19, 2024 2:18 pm

I've seen a few old posts about this while I've been figuring out how to set this up after buying an IRig Stomp I/O to use as a stand-alone MIDI interface, I'd like to say it is possible with a little fiddling.
I assume it will work for Axe I/O also but I can't be certain as I don't have one.

This assumes you want to use the Stomp I/O as a stand-alone MIDI interface on a PC with the Axe I/O One (I have no knowledge of iOS Devices).

Cables Needed: Midi In and Out & Power Supply For The Irig Stomp I/O.

(No USB cable is needed for the Irig Stomp when using as a stand-alone midi interface as having it connected just seems to confuse Amplitube).

(Note your IRig Stomp I/O will not be shown in the control software or AmpliTube when using it as a stand-alone midi interface)

I am using AmpliTube 5 in this example.

1. Axe I/O One connected to your computer the normal way with the USB cable.
The Axe I/O One with Midi-in to Midi-out on the IRig Stomp and Axe I/O One Midi-Out to Midi-In on the IRig Stomp.

2. Plug your Irig Stomp Power Supply into your Stomp I/O (DO NOT TURN THE POWER ON YET).

First, hold down the far left pedal button (the first one) on the IRig Stomp then turn on the power to your Irig Stomp while holding the far left button down.
(The IRig stomp will now go into stand-alone mode and the pedal lights will flash 3 times then the stomp mode light will illuminate along with the gain and volume lights).

Your IRig Stomp is now in stand-alone mode and will stay in this mode until you repeat the above process.

3. Open Axe I/O control software, if not already running then load it up and click the controller option in the control panel.