How to find the right preset?

AmpliTube TONEX, AmpliTube 5, AmpliTube Custom Shop, AmpliTube Joe Satriani, AmpliTube Brian May, MESA/Boogie®,Orange™, Fender™, Hendrix™, Metal, AmpliTube SVX, and more for Mac/PC

How to find the right preset?

Postby m.hewing@gmx.de » Fri Feb 26, 2021 6:12 pm

Hi there,
first of all: i am very new to e-guitar playing and Amplitube 5.
I have absolutely no idea on how setting up the "right sound" works.
So i purchased Amplitube 5 MAX in the hope of getting many many presets for playing different sounds "out of the box".
Unfortunately, there are so many presets, that i don't know what to choose.

As i am a beginner, i am starting with some easy stuff actually.
Right now, i am especially practising on ACDC - TNT and some Greenday and The Offspring songs, as they seem to be doable for me at my actual skill level.

The problem: how can i find a proper sound / preset for ACDC, Greenday and The Offspring?

Can you help me out? can you name me a maybe already existing preset?
Or is there some kind of "community preset sharing platform" i need to sign up to?

Help is really appreciated,
Thank you!

Regards,
Max
m.hewing@gmx.de

Re: How to find the right preset?

Postby carlaz » Fri Feb 26, 2021 8:22 pm

The presets in AmpliTube are sometimes named in a way that "suggests" certain artists and/or songs, but you are right that it is far from clear.

This may not be a helpful answer :oops: but this is one of the reasons I don't usually play with the stock presets in AmpliTube -- or I use them just as "inspiration" or "platforms" for creating my own presets.

Really, to approximate a given artist's tone, I find the most useful approach is to search online for information about the real gear they use (or used during the period in which I am interested) and then look for similar models in AmpliTube to help build my own rig.