Syntronic vs Syntronic 2 & Sound Libraries

Hammond B-3X, Syntronik, Syntronik Deluxe, SampleTank, Miroslav Philharmonik 2, SampleTron 2, and all Powered by SampleTank instruments and sounds for Mac/PC

Syntronic vs Syntronic 2 & Sound Libraries

Postby bacarlino » Fri Nov 04, 2022 8:15 pm

Hello - I'm new to IK Multimedia and to music production in general. I've purchased the Total Studio 3.5 pack and noticed both Syntronic and Syntronic 2 are licensed in the Product Manager.

I haven't used either one beyond opening them up and poking around, but it seems like #2 covers everything #1 did and more, so is installing the original one unnecessary?

Also it seems there's a ton of redundancy in the sound files as well. For instance the Syntronic 2 sounds install to their own "Syntronic 2" folder by default while the original Syntronic sounds install to the SampleTank 3 folder. The concern I have is there are some identically named packages here... after doing a full install of every sound pack covered under the license there are a lot of identically named folders and files that exist in both places (based on file names and sizes matching up). From what I can tell all of the original Syntronic files living in SampleTank 3 are also in the newer Syntronic 2 folder. If it's truly redundant and I don't need Syntronic (application) or it's files in SampleTank 3 (folder) then that saves over 70 GB of space.

Please advise and let me know your thoughts and the best approach here! Space is a concern, so that's the reason this has even become a thing for me. I'm looking for maximum effecience in both the installation as well as backing up the library.
bacarlino

Re: Syntronic vs Syntronic 2 & Sound Libraries

Postby DarkStar » Fri Nov 04, 2022 8:37 pm

Hello and welcome to the forum.